17 Responses to “Craigslist ad not showing up? It’s called ad ghosting.”

  1. solute Says:

    [...] the status is ???published??, your ad has been ???ghosted???. Read more for details and solutions.http://reviews411.wordpress.com/2008/05/12/craigslist-ad-not-showing-up-its-called-ad-ghosting/MIT OpenCourseWare Civil and Environmental Engineering 1.72 …Solute Transport. Special software is [...]

  2. Eleanor Eberhardt Says:

    What is my ad listed under so that I can find it? However, someone has already replied to: $ 650 master bdrm w/private bath in private home. (Allied Gardens).

    I am such a computer novice that when I looked under room wanted, or share room etc., could not find my ad. Please help. Thank you.

    Since my ad apparently showed up for somebody to reply to, why can’t I find it, and why is it called “ad ghosting”?

  3. reviews411 Says:

    I wouldn’t know what your ad is listed under, you would have chosen its category upon posting it. Whatever category you placed it in should be where it’s at. Don’t forget you can use the search box at the top to search for your ad.

    If someone replied to your ad, it’s either there and you just couldn’t find it because a bunch of other ads may have been piled up on top of it or it was flagged.

    It’s called “ad ghosting” because you think your ad is posted and you even get the email saying that it is published but it’s really not.

    This is used as a spam deterrent so that spammers will think their ad is posted when it’s really not. Most won’t take the time to actually go see if it was published. Unfortunately many legit ads get caught up in the ghosting mystery.

  4. dan white Says:

    Craigslist is F’ing nightmare to work with.

    Save everything you do elsewhere. Do not click any buttons until you have.

    I can’t tell you how many hours of work I’ve lost on that site.

    Their programming is ghetto. For example, if your photos are too big it won’t tell you until AFTER you try and post the ad. Then it just says, “sorry, too big.” When you hit the back button and your ad will be gone. HOURS of work down the drain.

    And you know those CL a-holes get this complaint hundreds of times a week but do nothing to fix it after all these years.

    If you violate one of their rules your ad will be vaporized and not found in your account. So gain, SAVE everything elsewhere at every step. It’s a pain, but better than starting over.

  5. i33t Says:

    same thing is happening to me, I’m trying to post a computer gig, but the ad is not being listed under the computer category.

  6. Kevin Says:

    Changing the title and first & last paragraph of ad a bit
    could help your ads not being ghosted and the techniques you have discussed are good ones too…

  7. Pit Silas Says:

    Thanks for publishing about this. There’s a mass of important tech info on the internet. You’ve got a lot of that info here on your website. I’m impressed – I try to keep a couple blogs somewhat up-to-date, but it’s a struggle sometimes. You’ve done a big job with this one. How do you do it?

    • reviews411 Says:

      Work, work, work! And I don’t update it nearly as often as I’d like. I have a lot of other tools and tricks I want to add here. Being in internet marketing, I’m always trying new stuff and have a few I’d really like to share. Will try to do soon!

  8. Charmaine Curtis Says:

    I was working on an ad for a house I am selling, I started it yesterday, 7/29/10, but it kicked me out before I was finished. It still needed more work, I assumed I could come
    back to it later. Can you verify whether or not you can find this ad, House For Sale, Baltimore, MD, 3417 Roselawn Ave, 21214. I wasn’t finished and I do not want it published as is. What can you tell me? Thanks,

    • reviews411 Says:

      Sorry for the delay Charmaine, this comment went to spam and I was about to clean out the spam folder and saw it. I’m quite sure you don’t need the help now =(

      However, your ad will not publish until you tell it to publish. I wouldn’t count on coming back to it later though. When you are preparing your ad, be ready to finish it and publish it then. If you think it may take you some time to craft it, craft it outside of CL and then when you’re ready to go live copy and paste (and edit anything that needs to be edited like the formatting) the ad into CL and then publish.

    • Captain Telemark Says:

      If it takes more than an hour or so to finish an ad, you can open your craigslist ad in another window to make sure it hasn’t timed out. If it has, just log back in, then go back and finish your ad.

    • Captain Telemark Says:

      I meant to say “… you can open your craigslist ACCOUNT in another window….”

  9. radiodj101 Says:

    I’m having the SAME problem. I am new at using CL, but I got through the process fine. CL sent me an email showing my truck for sale w/ the pictures I uploaded. I have never posted anything except this ONE thing on CL. I’ve been trying to get this viewable by others and I have run a search on my posting… NOTHING! What a pain in the a**! I just want to sell my vehicle like I’ve seen many others do. Why is CL NOT showing mine after 3 days? ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED! Thanks!

  10. NasonBailey Says:

    The script has been a great help to me!

  11. iElrodAlahfgr Says:

    Hey! Can I add this post to my website? It’s really useful post, I would like to share it with others:)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

